The second session of the United Nations Environment Assembly of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEA2) took place from 23-27 May 2016 in Nairobi, Kenya.

The meeting brought together over 2500 delegates ranging from current and former heads of states, Environment Ministers from 174 countries, heads of UN organizations, representatives of the private sector and participants from Major Groups and Stakeholders.

The Assembly was preceded by the Science and Policy Forum which convened more than 250 representatives from the science and policy-making communities in over a 100 countries. For two days, current and frontier issues of human interaction with the environment were discussed, with sessions covering the SDGs, the GEO-6 assessments, a range of frontier and merging issues with a series of thematic discussions – all from the perspective of strengthening the science-policy interface.

The UN Environment Assembly Bureau

The Assembly is led by a Bureau and its President. The UN Environment Assembly Bureau assists the President in the general conduct of business of the UN Environment Assembly. The Bureau and its President are elected by the Assembly for a period of two years starting at the closure of the session at which they were elected and until the closure of the next regular session. The Bureau is composed of ten Ministers of the Environment and other senior officials from member states representing each of the five UN regions.